Dean McGee Eye Institute

Dean McGee Eye InstituteGregory L. Skuta, M.D.
608 Stanton L. Young Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73104
Phone: 405/271-6363
Fax: 405/271-3013

Dean McGee Eye Institute Benchmarks of Excellence


The Dean McGee Eye Institute is one of America’s largest and most respected centers for medical and surgical eye care, providing more than 188,000 total patient visits per year from all 77 Oklahoma counties and the surrounding region, and serving more than 8,300 surgical patients annually in its state-of-the-art ambulatory surgery center.



In U.S. News and World Report’s 2016-2017 survey, the Dean McGee Eye Institute was recognized as one of the nation’s top 20 academic eye centers and seventh among those affiliated with a public university. Twenty of the Eye Institute’s 27 ophthalmologists is listed among the Best Doctors in America and/or Castle Connolly’s Top Doctors.

The University of Oklahoma (OU) College of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology, which is housed in the Dean McGee Eye Institute, ranks among the country’s top 20 departments in National Institutes of Health funding (tenth among departments affiliated with a public university) and is 14th in the nation in cumulative funding from Research to Prevent Blindness (seventh among public universities).

The Dean McGee Eye Institute’s residency program (in affiliation with the OU College of Medicine) ranked among the country’s top 20 by Doximity (eighth among public universities) and attracts top medical students from across the nation. Resident surgical education has consistently ranked above the 90th percentile nationally. Since 2000, the first-time pass rates on the American Board of Ophthalmology’s written and oral examinations are 100% and 98% respectively with an average score on the written examination near the 80th percentile.

The Eye Institute’s Director of Vision Research is a Past President of the International Society for Eye Research, Past Vice President of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) and a recipient of ARVO’s prestigious Proctor Medal; two members of the faculty are recent directors of the American Board of Ophthalmology; three serve or have recently served on the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO); one is the current President of the AAO; another has recently served as Vice Chair of the Residency Review Committee for Ophthalmology for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and will become President of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus in 2018; and one is a Past President of the AAO and the American Glaucoma Society.

The Dean McGee Eye Institute provides approximately $1 million of care to needy Oklahomans each year.

Get the Newsletter